China Internet Museum

Current Position: History>>2005

Annual Review

In 2005, Web2.0 changed the Internet.In this year, the number of Chinese Internet users exceeded 100 million, making China the country with the second largest netizen population after only the United States. A great number of users entered into the cyber world, and they need a new platform to cater for their needs and activities. At this time, a new network application model, Blog, as the most well-known Web 2.0 element, became an icon of this phase.
Web 2.0 has overturned the traditional information production model of the Web 1.0 era, as it emphasizes more on peer-to-peer information exchange of focus communication. Users as receivers of information are also creators of information, realizing information circulation of their own, which is a subversive creation. Blog was the epitome of this model. It completed the subversion of traditional elite model of information production, and influenced an era of Internet development.
The Web 2.0 concept, represented by the Blog, fueled the Internet development in China. While it was widely in use, it also gave rise to a series of new social things, such as Blog, RSS, WIKI, and SNS social network.
It was also in this year that Baidu was listed on NASDAQ, lifting the development of Chinese Internet to a new level. The heated debate triggered a year ago by the fact that the market value of Shanda exceeded many domestic portal sites still lingered, yet the market value of Baidu set a new target for Chinese Internet corporations.
The listing of Baidu also triggered the fever for the profession of webmaster. Webmasters formed a community-level group most close to the Internet and represented an important force fueling the development of Chinese Internet.
In 2005, the capital market for the Internet was very brisk. All sorts of mergers and acquisitions sprung up one after another; the most famous one was the acquisition between Yahoo! and Alibaba.
It was also in this year that the first IPTV business license in China was issued and that the college BBS in the Chinese mainland were forced to "transform" and restrict some functions due to the impact of YTHT BBS closing down. The effects of Chinese-style Internet management were becoming apparent. In this year, related governmental departments also promulgated some new policies on the future development of Internet and new regulations on its management.
In 2005, the first year of Blog has unlocked the new model of Web 2.0, from where the brilliance of Internet continues to sparkle.

Key Events

2005The First Year of Blog and the Advent of Web 2.0

The first year of Blog starts from 2005 not because it was when the idea of Blog first appeared, but because it became phenomenal on the Internet in this year.

From 2002 when the Chinese Blog Godfather Fang Xingdong first proposed the concept of "Blog" to 2005, which was the first year of Blog, the number of Chinese Blog users had grown from a few score in the beginning to 16 million. Blog had realized the transcendence from one for the minority to one for the majority. Blog was no longer a privilege of the elites, but became a lifestyle of the grassroots group on the Internet.

Setting up a blogging website became a new option for Internet companies. From the professional old brand bokee.com built by Fang Xingdong, to all the blogging columns built by portal sites, and to the eagerness of local websites, nearly all business websites wanted to have a share of this feast. In 2005, bokee.com acquired an investment of ten million U.S. dollars from a premier venture capital firm, which was also one of the biggest investments around the world in the area of Blog. Thus it began the creation and building of new products. QQ launched the blogging service Qzone; Sina and Sohu each launched a public beta version of Blog. Sina Blog worked on celebrity charm by inviting all sorts of celebrities to post blogs there. At this point, a blogging trend had widely sprung up on the Internet.

The advent of Web 2.0, represented by the Blog, has made the online life of Internet users less monotonous, but full of interaction and fun. The Internet business is no longer simply about a portal site; instead, it has news and sharing, games and shopping, search and communication.

Feb.19On February 19, Shanda Acquired 19.5% of Sina's Stock

On February 19, 2005, when people were still enjoying their leisure time during the lunar Chinese New Year, an acquisition battle had already begun in the Chinese Internet industry. Shanda acquired 19.5% of Sina's stock.

The whole process of this acquisition provided much food for thought. From the afternoon of February 18 when rumor got out that "Shanda was going to buy Sina's stock" to the morning of February 19 when the Shanda website announced that Shanda had bought 19.5% of Sina's stock at 230 million US dollars in cash, Sina had kept silent all along. The enthusiasm of Shanda presented a sharp contrast to the silence of Sina, which kicked off this acquisition battle.

In the evening of 19th, Sina offered a low-key response to the acquisition act of Shanda, and admitted to the public that "it was a sudden incident", showing that the acquisition act of Shanda was a real surprise attack and a successful one. Later, Wang Yan, CEO and President of Sina.com sent an email to all staff of Sina, giving a brief account of the incident, to reassure them.

The round-the-clock follow-up reports of the media and all-round interpretation and analysis of all experts made the silent Sina unable to remain silent any longer. On February 21, Sina issued an announcement in response to the Schedule 13D of Shanda, and on 22, it introduced the "shareholder rights plan", commonly known as the "poison pill plan", to prevent Shanda from buying more of its shares. With this, the acquisition incident settled down, thus ending the Era of Three Kingdoms of the Chinese Internet.

Mar.4On March 4, Off-campus User Access to BDWM BBS Was Restricted

Since March 2005, according to the regulations of the Ministry of Education, colleges in the Chinese mainland started to carry out the real-name authentication system on their campus BBS, and conditionally allowed or restricted the access of off-campus users.

The implementation of the real-name authentication system was because of two documents promulgated by the Ministry of Education in 2004, i.e., "Opinions on Further Strengthening the Campus Network Management of Colleges and Universities" and the "Opinions of the Ministry of Education and the Central Committee of the Communist Youth League on Further Strengthening the Campus Network Management of Colleges and Universities". With the growth of the netizen population and the popularity of campus BBS, the governance of network culture became urgent, and the implementation of the real-name authentication system became an irresistible trend. The real-name authentication system of campus BBS was conducive to impelling the students to watch their words and deeds, and would help colleges and universities conduct targeted management and provide necessary assistance. Students who came across problems in learning and life would get timely aid.

This implementation of the real-name authentication system has provided meaningful reference for Chinese college and university network governance, as well as for later network governance work.

Apr.7On April 7, the First Conference of Chinese Personal Website Webmasters Was Held

On April 7, 2005, the China Webmasters Forum and the First China Webmasters Conference were held in Xiamen. Since this conference, webmasters, as a grassroots force on the Chinese Internet, officially became professional and came into the spotlight, making themselves really understood by a vast number of Internet users.

The participants of this webmasters conference included not only the webmasters, but also senior personnel from the government, industry organizations, and the Internet field. The level of the participants showed the significance of this conference. The main initiator of the China Webmasters Conference was Cai Wensheng, who was the founder of 265.com. From 2005 to 2007, he held three Webmasters Conferences in a row.

More than a hundred webmasters participated in the first webmasters conference. Almost all of their websites ranked among the top 2000 according to the Alexa Global Ranking. A webmaster participating in the conference said proudly standing on sightseeing cruise, "if this ship sank, the Chinese Internet industry would become paralyzed." It was a joke, but also true. The sum of the visitor volume of all Chinese personal website webmasters at the time could account for more than one third of the visitor volume of the entire Chinese Internet. Because of this, personal website webmasters became a business force impossible to be overlooked at the time.

Jul.20On July 20, Kaifu Lee Officially Became the President of Google China

On July 20, Google announced the nomination of Kaifu Lee to be the president of Google China, in charge of Google's business development in China.

Putting aside the fact that Microsoft and Google confronted at court for Kaifu Lee, Microsoft and Google's competition had turned white-hot, both having long been ambitious for the Chinese market. In April 2006, Eric Schmidt, CEO of Google, announced in Beijing that the Chinese name of Google was "Gu Ge" (literally "song of valley"), marking that Google officially entered into the Chinese market. Later, Google steadily carried forward the localization of its various services in China, but it was still unaccustomed to the local environment, a problem which grew even more serious in its later development.

In April 2007, one year after Google entered the Chinese market, sohu.com accused Google of plagiarizing its input method, which attracted extensive attention from the media and heated discussion among users. Input method was not the hit product of Google; search was, but it also came across many difficulties in the Chinese market. The simple sinicization of Google search content and bad search experience had always perplexed the whole team. In June 2009, CCTV accused Google of spreading sexual information; Google was faced with double pressure at both legal and ethical levels.

In March 23, 2010, Google announced that, starting from this day, it would stop the vetting and screening of webpage search, news search, and picture search on Google.cn, and visitors to Google.cn would be redirected to Google.com.hk.

Although Google was an outstanding international company, and the market share of its search service had long been ranking the second in China, it eventually chose to leave due to its non-acclimatization to the local environment and the flaws of its own products and services.

Aug.5On August 5, Baidu Was Listed on NASDAQ

At 23:40 Beijing time on August 5, the cheers and joy of a small crowd of Chinese people on the NASDAQ exchange of the United States deeply attracted the attention of a large number of Chinese people across the Ocean; it was because Baidu was listed.

The successful listing of Baidu and its first-day performance verified the rule that "the Internet has no permanent leader". After Shanda created a peak of market value a year ago, Baidu lifted this peak to a new height. Baidu opened at USD 66 per share on the first day, and closed at USD 122.54, jumping 353.85% and reaching a market value of 3.958 billion US dollars. The surge in the stock market also pushed up the valuation of Robin Lee, founder of Baidu, approaching 1 billion US dollars.

Known as the "Chinese Google", Baidu had already become the largest Chinese search engine in the world, and also one of the ten largest websites in the world, ranking among the top 3 Chinese websites around the globe. Although Baidu was not as good as Google in technology and brand, yet its meticulous localization enabled Baidu to grow rapidly. Investors loved growing companies and loved rising stars in the Chinese Internet industry.

The listing of Baidu enriched the group of listed Chinese Internet companies. From media, portal to games and now to search engine, it marked the fourth capital milestone in the history of Chinese Internet development. With this "overnight wealth surge", Baidu directly joined the No.1 camp of Chinese Internet.

Aug.11 On August 11, Yahoo! Payment of $1 billion for 40% Alibaba Stock Was Finalized

Yahoo!'s purchase of 40% Alibaba's stock, or known as Alibaba's acquisition of Yahoo China, was officially finalized on August 11, 2005 as the "No.1 merger" in the Chinese Internet industry at the time.

According to the cooperation agreement signed by both sides, Alibaba bought all the assets of Yahoo China, obtained an investment of $1 billion from Yahoo!, and the right to indefinite use of the Yahoo! brand in China; meanwhile, Yahoo! acquired 40% of Alibaba's stock, and owned 35% of the voting rights. After the merger, Alibaba was responsible for the operation and management of Yahoo China and Jack Ma himself served as the General Manager of Yahoo China.

Alibaba did all it can to take over Yahoo China, and Yahoo! spent a great fortune to become a shareholder of Alibaba; both sides had their own intentions.

A week before this "No.1 merger", Baidu was listed; three weeks before it, Kaifu Lee was appointed the President of Google China. Obviously, search had become the hot topic of the time. Jack Ma meant to combine Yahoo! search with its own e-commerce, and realize face-to-face confrontation with eBay and Amazon worldwide.

Yahoo! had its own ambitions too. "He who wins search wins the world, he who wins China wins the world". Guided by this belief, Yahoo! chose Alibaba. To open the Chinese market, it must rely on local companies, and Alibaba was the strongest local brand in Chinese e-commerce.

中国互联网博物馆

当前位置:历史馆>>2005

年度综述

2005年,Web2.0改变了互联网。

这一年,中国网民用户数量轻松过亿,成为除美国之外全球网民数量最多的国家。大量的用户进入网络,需要一个新的平台承载他们的需求与活动。此时,一种新的网络应用模式——博客,作为Web2.0中最为人们所熟悉的元素,成为这一阶段的代表。

Web2.0颠覆了Web1.0时代传统的信息生产模式,更加强调分众传播的对等信息交互。用户作为信息接收者的同时也是信息创造者,实现了自身的信息循环,这是一种颠覆性的创举。博客就是这一模式的集大成者,完成了对传统信息生产精英模式的颠覆,并影响了互联网发展的一个时代。

以博客为代表的Web2.0概念推动了中国互联网的发展,在其被广泛使用的同时,也催生出了一系列社会化的新事物,比如Blog、RSS、WIKI和SNS交友网络等。

也是在这一年,百度赴纳斯达克挂牌上市,创造了中国互联网发展的又一个新高度。一年前盛大市值超越国内众多门户时引发热议的余温仍在,百度创造的市值又为中国互联网企业树立了新标的。

百度的上市也带热了站长这一职业。站长是最贴近互联网的草根群体,是推动中国互联网发展的重要力量。

2005年,互联网资本市场异常活跃,各种并购、收购层出不穷,其中最著名的当属Yahoo!与阿里巴巴的收购案。

还是在这一年,中国首张IPTV业务经营牌照发放了、中国大陆高校的BBS受“一塌糊涂”BBS关站风潮的影响被迫“转型”,并限制了一些功能。中国式互联网管理的效果开始显现。这一年,国家相关部门也出台了一些关于互联网未来发展的新政策和管理的新规定。

2005年,博客元年的到来,开启了Web2.0的新模式,互联网的精彩在继续。

核心事件

2005年博客元年开启,Web2.0到来

博客元年,始于2005年,不是因为博客概念的出现,而是它成为一种互联网现象。

从中国博客教父方兴东提出“博客”概念的2002年,到博客元年2005年,中国博客用户规模也已从最初的几十上百人增长到1600万,博客已经实现从“小众”走向“大众”的跨越。博客不再是精英阶层的特权,它已成为草根人群在互联网上的一种生活方式。

建立博客网站也成为互联网企业的新选择。从方兴东建立的老牌专业的博客网,到门户网纷纷建立博客专栏,再到地方网站摩拳擦掌,几乎所有的商业网站都想在这场盛宴中分得一杯羹。2005年,博客网获得了顶级风投机构的千万美元投资,也是全球博客领域最大的投资之一,由此进行了新产品的打造和建设;QQ推出了博客服务Qzone;新浪和搜狐分别推出博客公测版,新浪博客打造名人效应,引入各路名人入驻。至此,互联网的博客之风全面兴起。

以博客为代表的Web2.0时代的到来,使网民用户的网络生活不再那么单调,而是充满互动与趣味;互联网的业务不再只是门户那么单一,而是有新闻也有分享;有游戏也有购物;有搜索也有沟通。

2月19日盛大收购新浪19.5%股份

2005年2月19日,当人们还处在农历新年的闲暇之时,中国互联网行业则已经开始了一场收购的较量——盛大收购新浪19.5%的股份。

此次收购事件的整个过程比较耐人寻味。从2月18日下午业界开始传闻“盛大收购新浪股份”,到2月19 日上午盛大网站公布盛大以2.3亿美元的现金收购新浪19.5%的股份,新浪方面一直没有做任何回应。盛大的积极与新浪的沉默形成了鲜明的对比,并由此拉开了这场收购战的序幕。

到19日晚间,新浪低调回应了盛大的收购行为,并对外坦诚“事件突然”,可见盛大的此次收购行为实为突袭,且成功了。随后,新浪网CEO兼总裁汪延向新浪全体员工发布邮件,对这一事件进行了简单的描述,以期稳定军心。

媒体全天候的跟踪报道、各路专家全面解读分析,让沉默的新浪不能再继续沉默下去。2月21日,新浪发布关于盛大13-D备案的回复声明,22日启动了“股东购股权计划”,即通常所说的“毒丸计划”,以限制盛大继续获取更多的股份。至此,收购事件尘埃落定,中国互联网三国时代终结。

3月4日北大未名BBS限制校外用户访问

2005年3月,按照教育部规定,中国内地大学开始陆续推行校园BBS实名制,并有条件允许或限制校外用户的访问。

此次实名制的推行,源于2004年教育部先后发布的《关于进一步加强高等学校校园网络管理工作的意见》和《教育部、共青团中央关于进一步加强高等学校校园网络管理工作的意见》。随着网民用户数量的增长和校园BBS的流行,网络文化治理已经迫在眉睫,推行校园BBS实名制也是大势所趋。校园BBS实名制有利于学生约束自己的言行,同时也有利于高校有针对性地管理和提供帮助,对在学习和生活中遇到困难的学生,能够及时提供帮扶。

此次实名制工作,为我国高校网络治理工作提供了有利试点,也为后来网络治理工作进行了有益探索。

4月7日首届中国个人网站站长大会召开

2005年4月7日,中国站长论坛暨首届中国站长大会在厦门举行。这次大会的举行,让站长这一中国互联网的草根力量正式登堂入室,聚焦于闪光灯下,也让广大互联网用户开始真正了解这一群体。

参与此次站长大会的除了站长这一群体,还有包括政府、行业机构以及互联网领域的企业高层,从出席人员的层次可以看出这一届大会的意义。中国站长大会的主要倡导者蔡文胜,他本人就是265网站的创办人。从2005-2007年,由他连续举办了三届站长大会。

参与首届站长大会的站长有一百多名,他们所做的网站几乎都处于Alexa全球排名的前2000。正如当时参会的一位站长在游览游船上如此自豪地说:“如果这条船沉了,中国的互联网行业就会瘫痪。”可以说这是一句调侃,但也符合现状。如果把当时所有中国个人站长所拥有的流量相加,其总和可以占到整个中国互联网流量的三分之一以上。正是如此,使得个人站长成为当时一股不能被忽视的商业力量。

7月20日李开复正式出任Google中国区总裁

Google在7月20日宣布了Google中国区总裁的任命,由李开复担纲,负责Google在中国的业务发展。

撇开微软和Google为李开复而对簿公堂,微软和Google的竞争已经到了白热化,对中国市场都已窥视已久。2006年4月,Google全球CEO埃里克·施密特在北京宣布Google的中文名字为“谷歌”,标志着Google正式进入中国市场。随后Google在中国有序地推进其各种服务的本地化,但是水土不服的现象依然存在,并在后来的发展中逐渐严重。

2007年4月,Google入华后一年,就发生了搜狐指责Google输入法抄袭问题,引起媒体的广泛关注和用户的讨论。输入法不是Google的拳头产品,搜索才是,但是在中国市场却也遭遇了坎坷。Google搜索内容的简单汉化、搜索体验不佳等问题一直困扰着整个团队。2009年6月,中央电视台指责Google涉黄,Google面临来自法律和道德层面的双重压力。

2010年3月23日,Google宣布从当天开始停止对Google.cn的网页搜索、新闻搜索、图片搜索的审查过滤,访问Google.cn的用户将会被自动重定向到Google.com.hk。

虽然Google是一家优秀的国际公司,搜索服务在中国市场的占有率长期持在第二位,但是由于水土不服和自身产品业务的欠缺最终还是选择了离开。

8月5日百度赴纳斯达克挂牌上市

北京时间8月5日的23:40,美国纳斯达克交易所中一小群中国人欢呼的声音和雀跃的身影深深吸引着大洋彼岸的一大群中国人的关注,因为百度上市了。

百度的成功上市和首日表现验证了“互联网没有永远的老大”的定律。继盛大网络在一年前创造了市值顶峰之后,百度又将这一顶峰提升到了新的高度。百度当日以66美元开盘,报收于122.54美元,大涨353.85%,市值达到39.58亿美元。股市的大涨让百度创始人李彦宏的身价水涨船高,接近10亿美元。

被誉为“中国的Google”的百度已经是全球最大的中文搜索引擎,也是全球十大网站之一,并位居全球中文网站TOP3。虽然百度在技术上、品牌上都不如Google,但是在本土化方面的精耕细作使得百度能够高速成长。投资者喜欢具有成长性的企业,喜欢中国互联网行业的新星。

百度的上市丰富了中国互联网上市企业的阵营。从媒体、门户到游戏,再到搜索引擎,算是中国互联网发展历史上的第四个资本里程碑。凭借着“一夜暴富”,百度由此直接进人了中国互联网第一阵营。

8月11日Yahoo!10亿美元换购阿里巴巴40%股份交易落锤

Yahoo!换购阿里巴巴40%股份,或称阿里巴巴收购雅虎中国,这一当时中国互联网的“第一并”在2005年8月11日正式落锤。

根据双方签署的合作协议,阿里巴巴收购雅虎中国全部资产,得到Yahoo!10亿美元投资与Yahoo!品牌在中国无限期使用权;同时,Yahoo!取得阿里巴巴40%股份,拥有35%的投票权。整合后的雅虎中国由阿里巴巴负责运营和管理,马云自己出任雅虎中国的总经理。

阿里巴巴倾其所能要吞下雅虎中国,Yahoo!花费巨资入股阿里巴巴,两者也都各自“心怀鬼胎”。

就在这“第一并”的前一周,百度上市了;前三周,李开复出任了Google中国区总裁。显而易见,搜索已经成为当下的热门,马云就是要借助Yahoo!搜索与自己的电子商务整合,在全球范围内实现与eBay和Amazon的直面较量。

Yahoo!也有自己的野心。“得搜索者得天下,得中国者得天下”,在这样的信条下,Yahoo!选择了阿里巴巴。要打开中国市场,还必须依靠本土派,阿里巴巴在中国电子商务领域是最强的本土品牌。