China Internet Museum

Current Position: History>>2004

Annual Review

The year of 2004 was a golden year for Chinese Internet industry. Thanks to the new operational mode with Chinese characteristics, a number of portal websites started to make profit, and the growing number of netizens and the thriving Internet industry constituted a positive cycle of development.

The e-commerce market saw more and more new entrants. The flooding of foreign capital and their competition with local capital drove the e-commerce market into flourish and intensified the competition among e-commerce brands. The listing of Chinese companies in the United States and foreign capital's investment in Chinese companies were all closely watched. The capital flow showed investors' interest and confidence in China's e-commerce market.

Shanda Games Ltd. went listed on NASDAQ, winning the title of China's first concept stock of online games. Despite the bear market, its stock performance was good.  In the same year, Shanghai Zhengtu Network was founded and started to develop its first MMORPG, Zhengtu. Shanda and Zhengtu later became two main participants and rivals in China's online game market and provided several influential games for users.

The year of 2000 saw the first IPO wave of Chinese Internet companies and the stocks of Chinese Internet companies took a nose dive, with few exceptions, in the bear market. Years later, the situation finally turned for better in 2004. Chinese Internet companies were eager to explore the American market and all of a sudden, Internet companies shined once again to investors. Tencent Holdings was listed in Hong Kong, the first mainland Internet company listed on the Main Board of Hong Kong Stock Exchange.

The increase of netizens and applications diversified the cyber culture, giving birth to cyber charity and online protection of rights, etc.

From the steady growth of netizens and the rapid expansion of Internet business, we could see that the second Internet wave in China already took off in 2004.

Key Events

Feb.27Alibaba raised USD 82 million on February 27

Alibaba attracted a strategic investment of USD 82 million on February 27, then the biggest private equity fund received by Chinese Internet companies. Alibaba's success attracted overseas capital's attention to the prospects of e-commerce in China and boosted the confidence of Chinese e-commerce companies.

The investment of international investors boosted the comprehensive recovery of e-commerce in China. In 2004, joyo.com and dangdang.com also received the venture capital of USD 6.5 million and USD 11 million, respectively; on August 19, Amazon announced to acquire joyo.com with USD 75 million. Capital operation remained a recurrent theme in the e-commerce market throughout the year, from eBay's second investment in eachnet.com to Softbank's capital investment in Alibaba and to elong.com sale of its stocks, and each of these capital transactions was closely watched.

E-commerce companies were active in the year. For example, the new domain name of jd.com was put into use at the beginning of 2004, marking the company's entrance into the e-commerce market; at the year end, the Alipay website was launched.

Regarding to users, according to the 14th Statistical Report on Internet Development in China issued by CNNIC, 37.8% of Chinese netizens had shopped online and 58% expected to do so in the future.

2004The Chinese online game market was worth more than RMB 2 billion in 2004

In 2004, China's online game market size reached RMB 2.47 billion, up by 47.9% from 2003, an increase of nearly RMB 500 million.

As to the quantity of gaming products, there were 109 online games available in the market, and 12 of them attracted more than 30,000 online players, one quarter of which were developed by Chinese companies. China planned to invest RMB one to two billion in developing online games from 2004 to 2008 to develop proprietary online games with Chinese characteristics. Meanwhile, to make up the shortage of gaming developers, the General Administration of Press and Publication launched the "10 plus one" talent cultivation program to establish one special college and designate ten higher education institutions providing gaming related majors in order to foster online gaming developers holding the bachelor degree.

At the same time, international companies rushed to the Chinese market one after another. Foreign games were not well received in the Chinese market due to cultural difference or because they were outdated until 2004 when Lineage II was introduced into China and attracted a large number of players. The introduction and popularity of foreign games showed that China’s gaming market was maturing.

Diverse payment channels made it more convenient for game players. The undiversified payment method applied to online games before had greatly restricted the increase of potential users, but the problem was solved gradually by the Internet technology. The popularization of online credit card payment helped boost the development of online games. Research showed that in 2003, 15.5% of game players made online payments with credit cards, and the figure jumped to 18.1% in 2004. The change provided a new momentum for the gaming industry.

Mar.4Linktone started the second IPO wave on March 4

In 2000, china.com became the first Chinese Internet company listed on Nasdaq, initiating the first IPO wave for Chinese Internet companies. Four years later, Linktone was also listed on NASDAQ, heralding another IPO wave.

Linktone was a mobile service provider, China's first specialized service provider listed on NASDAQ and also known as the "No.1 stock of short messaging." Despite all its glories, its fate seemed to be doomed. Linktone struggled as mobile Internet developed rapidly and chose to delist in 2013 and withdraw itself from the value-added telecom service market. But it did set a good example for other Chinese Internet companies and encouraged them to make IPOs overseas.

Following its footprints, Tom Online was listed in both the United States and Hong Kong on March 10 and Shanda was listed on NASDAQ on May 13. Shanda's IPO took many by surprise for at that time, it was entangled with lawsuits and had postponed its IPO before. The situation didn’t turn for better until Tang Jun got on board. Its success served as a dose of strong medicine for Chinese Internet companies who saw new light in the picky eyes of investors.

Later, Tencent, KongNet and 51job.com were listed too. The IPO wave concluded with the listing of the 9 in December. In this year, seven Chinese Internet companies were listed, so was Google in the United States.

Jul. China's WAPI proposal to the ISO was thwarted by the United States in July 2004

WAPI, known as the Chinese version of Wi-Fi, was expected to become an international standard but failed for all sorts of reasons.

WAPI, a short name for Wireless LAN Authentication and Privacy Infrastructure, was a security protocol. China started to study wireless LAN in 1992, developed the technology for wireless LAN security in August 2001 and drafted the standard in November of the same year. In November 2003, the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine of the People's Republic of China (AQSIQ) and the Standardization Administration of the People's Republic of China co-issued a notice requiring all wireless LAN products within China's territory to adopt the WAPI standard from June 1, 2004. But it was strongly objected by American companies including Intel and Broadcom who even threatened to suspend their wireless business in China. In March 2004, Chinese and American government officials negotiated without substantial progress. In July, China submitted the WAPI proposal to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) in an attempt to make WAPI an international standard but was strongly objected by the United States. As a result, all the efforts China had made went in vain, China had to cancel the application on November 21, 2011 due to the interference of the United States and later the WAPI project was canceled by the ISO.

Despite its disappointing ending, the WAPI incident showed China's strong determination to seek for technological innovation and development.

Jun.16 Tencent was listed in Hong Kong on June 16

Tencent was listed in Hong Kong on June 16, 2004. By March 2004, QQ had attracted 291 million registered users, with six million users online at the peak hour. The gigantic user base paved way for Tencent's IPO. On the first day of IPO, Tencent earned the net income of 1.44 billion Hong Kong dollars and received the subscription application for 6.7 billion shares from retail distribution in Hong Kong, 158 times oversubscribed. Tencent's capital size expanded in leaps and bounds.

From then on, Tencent continued to expand its business scope and launched its own portal website in December. Now its business scope spans from instant messaging (IM), portal, gaming, email, QQ zone, music and videos, etc., basically covering all Internet services. Ten years later, its stock price soared from the offering price of 3.7 Hong Kong dollars per share to 580 Hong Kong dollars (by February 2014), growing 157 times.

May.21 The first China Computer-Mediated Communication Annual Conference was held in Nanjing on May 21

As the old saying goes, "Food and fodder should go ahead of troops and horses." When the concept of blog was invented in 2002, it was familiar to only a handful of elite netizens. At the first China Computer-Mediated Communication Annual Conference held in 2004, blog was one of the hottest topics and government departments and the academia started to follow and study its development. This gala in the communication community attracted extensive participation of media and helped more readers understand what the blog was. The conference was the "food and fodder" for the "troops and horses" to be mobilized in 2005, the first year of blogging in China.

The blog culture also added the heat of blog-related topics. At the annual conference, the role of blogs in computer-mediated communication and their future development and environment were discussed. In 2005, new progress was made in Internet communication, elevating the status of blogs and heating up discussions over them. Following the first China Computer-Mediated Communication Annual Conference, the second conference & 2005 China Computer-Mediated Communication Academy Award --- The Blog Contest was also staged in Nanjing.

Aug.28The Electronic Signature Law of the People's Republic of China was adopted on August 28

The Electronic Signature Law of the People's Republic of China was adopted on August 28, 2004 at the 11th session of the 10th Standing Committee of the National People's Congress and would be put into effect from April 1, 2005.

It's known as China's first law on information technology in the real sense and also the first law on e-commerce in the real sense. It stipulates that the electronic signature has the same legal effect with the handwritten signature and seal. Its promulgation was an important move to clear obstacles for e-commerce development and thus meant a lot for the rapidly-growing industry.

The law protects e-commerce security. Under the law, e-commerce participants cannot deny their electronic signature, making the transaction safer; the law also allowed online payments, a solution to the tricky payment problem facing e-commerce in China.

It also advanced the reform in the financial sector. With the development of e-commerce and technology, Chinese commercial banks also offered online banking services, allowing online transactions to grow in leaps and bounds in both terms of turnover and frequency. The Electronic Signature Law provides the legal guarantee for the authenticity of online transactions.

Sep.20The first Red Journey of Computer-Mediated Media in Beijing was launched on September 20

The Beijing Municipal Government Information Office and Beijing Association of Online Media jointly launched the Red Journey (to Jiangxi) of Computer-Mediated Media in Beijing from September 20 to 26, 2004. The event was designed to better implement the instructions on the training of web press professionals given by the State Council Information Office and educate heads of main online media and web news media on the revolutionary tradition, patriotism and the society. It's aimed to stimulate Internet business insiders' ideological and political consciousness, vision for the whole picture and sense of responsibility, and advance the rapid, sound building of cyber culture with Chinese characteristics by following the routes of revolutionaries, visiting the birthplace or former residence of martyrs, reviewing revolutionary ideas, and experiencing revolutionary achievements.

It was a red journey for online media in Beijing to inherit the revolutionary spirit, a cultural journey for them to feel the time-honored history, an experiential journey to understand national progress, a harmonious journey to reinforce cohesion and a journey of discovery to promote the building of cyber culture with Chinese characteristics. Nine consecutive terms of this event were held from 2004 to 2012, marking it a branded event in the Internet industry.

中国互联网博物馆

当前位置:历史馆>>2004

年度综述

2004年,中国互联网迎来了发展的春天。具有中国特色的新的运作方式使一批门户网站开始赢利,继续增多的网民和继续繁荣的中国互联网开始形成良性循环持续发展。

电子商务领域,市场新的挑战者不断出现。国外资本涌入,与本土资本之争加速了中国电子商务市场的繁荣,也加剧了电子商务的品牌竞争。国内企业赴美上市,国外资本注资国内企业等,都挑拨着中国电子商务的心弦。每一笔资本往来的背后,都是投资者对中国电子商务市场的“觊觎”,也是对中国电子商务发展愿景的向往。

网游市场第一支概念股出现。盛大网络登陆纳斯达克,被称为中国网络游戏第一股。在股市遭遇寒流的情况下,依然保持了良好的势头。同年,上海征途网络科技公司成立,第一款MMORPG游戏——《征途》正式进入自主研发过程。盛大和征途也成为后来中国网络游戏市场的主要参与者和竞争者,为用户提供了多款具有影响力的游戏产品。

2000年,中国互联网企业掀起了第一次上市潮,在股市寒潮的大侵袭下,中国互联网概念股已经“遍体鳞伤”。经过几年的煎熬和调整,终于在2004年迎来新的发展。互联网企业纷纷走出国门,赴美国市场“跑马圈地”,一时间互联网企业的光环骤然闪耀。腾讯控股的成功上市,成为第一家在香港主板上市的大陆互联网企业。

网民数量和网络应用的增多,产生的新网络文化也更加丰富,如网络慈善、网络维权等。

不管是从网民稳步增长的角度,还是从网络业务快速开展的视角,都可以看出中国互联网的第二次浪潮在2004年已经起步。

核心事件

2月27日阿里巴巴融资8200万美元

阿里巴巴获得8200万美元的战略投资,成为当时中国互联网业最大的一笔私募基金。阿里巴巴成功融资,让海外资本看到了中国电子商务市场的前景,让中国电子商务企业增添了发展的信心。

资本市场,阿里巴巴能够赢得大额融资,让国际投资机构开始关注中国电子商务市场,带动了中国电子商务全面复苏。2004年,除了阿里巴巴以外,卓越网和当当网也分别获得了650万和1100万美元的风险投资;8月19日,Amazon正式宣布以7500万美元收购卓越。2004年,中国电子商务资本运作不断。从eBay再次注资易趣,到阿里巴巴获得软银的风险资本,再到艺龙网出售股份等,资本市场的每一笔资本运作都在拨动着中国电子商务的心弦。

企业层面,从2004年初的京东启用新域名,正式涉足电子商务领域,到年末的支付宝网站正式上线,这一年中国电子商务表现活跃。

用户层面,根据CNNIC发布的第14次中国互联网发展报告显示,已经有37.8%的网民有网购经历,同时有58%的网民用户预计未来将会进行网购。

2004年中国网络游戏市场规模突破20亿元

2004年,中国网络游戏市场规模达到24.7亿元,比2003年增长了近5亿元,增长了47.9%。

从运营的游戏产品数量上看,市场上共有网络游戏109款,在线人数保持在3万以上的游戏有12款,其中国产网络游戏占到四分之一。为了发展具有自主知识产权和民族特色的优秀网络游戏,中国计划在2004-2008年间共投资10-20亿元支持网络游戏开发产业。同时,为了弥补开发人才的紧缺,中国国家新闻出版总署启动了“十加一”人才培养计划,“一”就是成立一所专门学院,“十” 就是把十所有游戏相关专业的高等院校列为定点培养学院,培养本科水平的网络游戏开发人才。

国际品牌纷纷进入中国市场。2004年以前,国外游戏厂商也向中国输入了部分游戏产品,由于受文化差异、产品老化等问题的影响,这些游戏的运营并不成功。但是,2004年引入的《天堂2》游戏却获得了大量用户的追捧。国外游戏的进入和广受欢迎,标志我国游戏市场的逐步成熟。

支付渠道的多元化带来便捷。传统的网络游戏购买支付方式单一,在很大程度上限制了潜在用户的增长,但是随着互联网技术的发展,这一问题慢慢得到了解决。网上信用卡支付方式的兴起,对网络游戏的发展具有积极促进作用。根据调查显示,2003年网上信用卡支付的游戏玩家为15.5%,到2004年增长到了18.1%。正是这种方式的转变,为游戏的发展带来了新的驱动力。

3月4日掌上灵通开启第二轮上市潮

2000年,以中华网为代表的中国互联网企业打破坚冰,成为第一个成功在纳斯达克上市的中国互联网企业,由此掀起了第一波上市潮。时隔4年,掌上灵通在纳斯达克的公开上市,开启了中国互联网企业的又一次上市潮。

掌上灵通是一家手机服务供应商,它成为首家完成上市的中国专业SP概念股,被称为“短信第一股”。然而,这个曾经风光的头衔,冥冥中注定了结局,因为移动互联网科技的快速发展,让掌上灵通的业绩陷入困局,最终在2013年选择了退市,并退出电信增值业务市场。但在当时,掌上灵通的上市具有积极带动意义,引领了更多互联网企业走出国门。

随后,3月10日,TOM Online在美国和香港同时上市;5月13日,盛大网络在纳斯达克挂牌交易。盛大能够成功上市,在当时很是出乎了许多人的意料,因为此时的盛大正是官司缠身,让盛大的上市一度推迟,直到唐骏入主盛大,情况才有所好转。盛大的上市给中国互联网注入了一针强心剂,因为面对投资者挑剔的眼光,中国互联网又找到了新的炒作亮点。

后来,腾讯网、空中网、前程无忧网也纷纷上市,直到12月第九城市的上市,才为这一年的上市潮谢幕。这一年,中国有7家互联网公司上市,而美国的Google也上市了。

7月中国向ISO提交WAPI提案遭美国阻挠

关于WAPI,可以简称中国版的Wi-Fi,曾有望成为国际标准,但因各种原因最终未能成行。

WAPI 的全拼是 Wireless LAN Authentication and Privacy Infrastructure,即无线局域网鉴别和保密基础结构,是一种安全协议。中国从1992年开始无线局域研究,2001年8月开发出中国的无线局域网安全技术,同年11月完成标准草案。2003年11月,国家质监总局和国家标准化管理委员会发布公告,从2004年6月1日起,境内的无线局域网产品必须采用WAPI标准。但是这一要求遭到了英特尔、博通等美国公司强烈抵制,并威胁将停止在中国开展无线业务。2004年3月,中美双方政府官员就此事进行了磋商,但没有取得实质性进展。到7月份,中国向国际标准化组织ISO提交了WAPI提案,试图推进其成为国际标准,但遭到美国方面的强烈阻挠。后来,虽然中国方面对此进行了多次努力,但是终因美国的阻挠,中国于2011年11月21日撤销了申请,随后ISO将WAPI项目取消。

WAPI事件的结果虽然不完美,但是通过这件事彰显了中国在坚持走技术创新和发展道路的坚强决心。

6月16日腾讯赴香港成功上市

2004年6月16日,腾讯在香港成功上市。截至2004年3月,QQ注册用户已经达到2.91亿,最高同时在线用户达600万。正是这一庞大的用户群,为腾讯的上市开辟了道路。腾讯上市首日,获得了14.4亿港元的净收入,香港零售发行部分获得67亿股的认购申请,超额认购达158倍。至此,腾讯成功实现了资本的跳跃。

上市后的腾讯,拥有了业务扩张的资本,不断扩张自己的业务,于12月进军门户网。后来,腾讯的业务版图中包含了IM、门户、游戏、邮箱、空间、音乐、视频等,几乎囊括了所有互联网服务。如今,腾讯上市十年后,股价已经从当时的发行价3.7港元上涨到580港元(股价采集时间为2014年2月)以上,上涨了157倍。

5月21日首届中国网络传播学年会在南京召开

俗话说“兵马未动,粮草先行”。自2002年“博客”这一概念被创造,它只是少数网民中的精英了解和熟悉的事物。在2004年召开的首届网络传播学年会上,博客成为了大会的热点之一,政府部门和学术界开始主动关注和研究博客的发展。这是一次传播学界的聚会,自身的属性和媒体的广泛参与,让更多的读者认识和了解博客。这次大会就是“粮草”,为2005年博客元年的“兵马”提供了给养。

博客文化的兴起,让博客的热度在继续升温。此次网络传播年会探讨了博客在网络传播中的作用,并探索博客未来的发展与环境。2005年,互联网的传播领域又取得了新的发展,博客在网络传播中的地位变得更加重要,关于博客的讨论还在继续。所以,在召开了首届中国网络传播学年会后,第二届中国网络传播学年会暨“2005中国网络传播学院奖·博客大奖赛”继续在南京召开。

8月28日《中华人民共和国电子签名法》获得通过

2004828日,中华人民共和国第十届全国人民代表大会常务委员会第十一次会议通过了《中华人民共和国电子签名法》,自200541日起施行。

电子签名法被称为中国首部真正意义上的信息化法律”,也被认为是中国真正电子商务法意义上的立法。电子签名法确立了电子签名与传统手写签名和盖章具有同等的法律效力。这部法律的颁布,对在我国正处于快速发展中的电子商务具有重要的积极作用,是扫除电子商务发展障碍的重要步骤。

电子签名法保障了电子商务的安全。《电子签名法》可以解决电子商务交易参与者的不可否认性,提高交易的安全;可以实现交易的在线支付,解决中国电子商务支付层面的棘手问题。

电子签名法对金融界的改革具有重大推动作用。随着电子商务和技术的发展,国内商业银行均适时开通了网上银行服务,促使网上银行交易呈现了跳跃式发展,交易额和交易次数不断上升。《电子签名法》的颁布,为这些交易的真实性提供了法律保证。

9月20日首届“北京网络媒体红色故土行”活动开启

北京市人民政府新闻办公室和北京网络媒体协会于2004年9月20日至26日举办了2004北京网络媒体红色故土行(江西)活动。本次活动是为了更好地贯彻落实国务院新闻办公室加强网站新闻从业人员培训工作指示精神,对北京网络媒体主要负责人和新闻负责人开展革命传统教育、爱国主义教育和社会教育。活动旨在通过重走革命道路、重访先烈故里、重温革命思想、体验改革成就,激发互联网从业人员的思想政治意识、大局意识、责任意识,推动中国特色网络文化建设的快速、健康发展。

“北京网络媒体红色故土行”活动的成功举办,已经成为了北京网络媒体传承革命精神的红色之旅、感受悠久历史的文化之旅、了解国家发展成就的体验之旅、增强行业凝聚力的和谐之旅,也是北京网络媒体发展和推动中国特色网络文化建设的探索之旅。该活动自2004年开始到2012年,已经连续成功举办了九届,形成了互联网行业具有品牌意义的活动。