China Internet Museum

Current Position: History>>2001

Annual Review

In early 2001, China Mobile announced that, starting from February 21, the fee for information-on-demand services would include communication fee and information fee, among which the communication fee was 0.1 yuan per message, and some Internet companies began to jump on the bandwagon of short message services (SMS). Some firms took the initiative to create opportunities and launched paid mailbox and homepage services, etc. Tencent also seized the opportunity to grow despite adverse conditions by taking advantage of its huge user base and diversified billing models.

The year 2001 was also a turning point for China's online gaming industry. In 2000, online gaming sprouted up from the launch of the King of Kings. After Shanda introduced a massively multiplayer online role-playing game – the Legend of Mir II, which was licensed from South Korea in November 2001, the online gaming industry yielded usually brilliant results and became one of China's most profitable industries.

The year 2001 was also an important turning point for the restructuring and opening up of China's telecom industry. China Telecom was split up into roughly north areas and south areas in this year. In this year, China Unicom developed CDMA network which was the second nationwide mobile communication network in China, following the GSM network. The restructuring of China Tietong Telecom into a commercial telecom operator was also completed in the same year. After China's accession to the WTO in 2001, Alcatel signed an agreement with China to merge its main business in China with Shanghai Bell to form Alcatel Shanghai Bell, which was the first Sino-foreign joint stock telecommunications company in China. The joint venture showed that China's telecommunications market was gradually opening up to foreign capital.

In the same year, two software companies, Kingdee and UFSoft, also brought good news to the Internet industry in China. The listing of the two software companies also boosted stocks of domestic software companies.

By the end of 2000, the goal of "making vigorous promotion of nationwide economic and social informationization into a strategic measure covering the entire picture of modernization construction" set forth in the Proposal of the CPC Central Committee for the Formulation of the Tenth Five-Year Plan for National Economic and Social Development was fully implemented in 2001. Policies promoting informationization of governments, enterprises and education facilities were also introduced. In September 2001, the Guidelines of the Tenth Five-Year Plan for the Information Industry was officially released. It was the first industrial plan after informationization was made into a major strategic measure by the central government, laying a solid foundation for the orderly development of the entire Internet industry.

Key Events

Jan.1On January 1, Beijing Huayi China launched Stone Age, which ignited China's online gaming market

On January 1, Beijing Huayi launched Stone Age, ushered in the golden age of online gaming in China; in March, Shanda officially announced its entry in the online gaming market; in May, ourgame.com became the world's largest online gaming site; in July, Shanda paid USD 300,000 to introduce the massive Korean on-line game Legend of Mir 2; in July, Chinesegamer.cn released "Heroes of Jin Yong Online", successfully retaking the market from online games developed by South Korea, and became the most successful original online game in 2001; in November, NetEase launched Westward Journey Online, signaling the start of Internet portals' entry into the online game industry, and making online games a new profit growth point for Internet portals. Due to this series of actions, the revenues of China's online game industry in 2001 reached nearly RMB 500 million, on a par with stand-alone games. This year is also known as the "Year of Online Games" in the industry. Gaming appeared to have become a whole new industry overnight and was given a very avant-garde name - the Ninth Art.

Online gaming is a strategic entertainment industry and the integration of information technology leads to the flourishing of the global digital entertainment industry where online gaming is one of the leading forces. According to data from IDC, global online gaming revenues climbed to over USD 6 billion in 2002 and continued to grow at rates in excess of 50% over a period of five years after 2002. In 2008, amazed by China's thriving online gaming market, media in South Korean exclaimed that China's online gaming had successfully caught up with South Korea.

From 2000 to early 2001, China's domestic online gaming firms were still very weak in development of original games. Most of China's domestic operators relied on licensing games developed by foreign companies. Some companies acquired their first pot of gold by taking advantage of the shear size of the market and user base and the lack of competition in the market. It was at the end of 2001 that domestic online game producers and studios began to challenge the dominant role of online games developed by foreign countries. China's online gaming firms also slowly transformed their role from licensed operators to developers of original games. In 2001, they began to earnestly compete in the online gaming market which had been limbering up from the year of 2000 by launching new games at the speed of one game per month.

Jan.17On January 17, Sohu launched mobile phone short message services (SMS) and Internet companies began to generate revenues via value added telecom services

After rolling out the Monternet Plan in 2000, China Mobile made adjustments to its paid SMS services in early 2001. On January 17, Sohu formally announced its launch of comprehensive SMS services. Sina, NetEase, Tencent and other Internet companies also joined hands with telecom operators to launch SMS services. SMS provides a source of revenue for Internet companies and gradually helps China's three major web portals stop continuous losses. By 2002, all three major portals had reported a profit in a quarterly reporting period.

The explosive growth of the SMS market also has its inevitable external opportunities. For one thing, the rapid development of the online content industry and mobile phone technology led to diversified forms and content of SMS and provided strong support for the development of SMS. For another thing, due to the continuous growth of mobile phone users, SMS became very popular and demands for SMS also became more diversified. In a user demand oriented market environment, SMS created a new space of value for mobile Internet information.

Jun. In June, MIH, a media company from South Africa, acquired 46.5% shares in Tencent

On the morning of December 24, Tencent publicly disclosed details on changes in its capital and business for the first time, and further explained the acquisition of 46.5% shares in QQ (Tencent) by the international media company MIH: "MIH acquired stakes held by PCCW in Tencent in whole and part of the stakes held by IDG in Tencent and further increased its investment in Tencent in June 2001. Now, MIH held 46.5% stakes of Tencent."

It was reported that, in this acquisition, the founders of Tencent sold 13.5% shares in QQ, the U.S. investment group IDG sold 13% QQ shares, and Hong Kong investor Richard Lee sold all his 20% QQ shares. As a result, the shares held the international media company MIH (Millard International Holdings Group) in QQ reached 46.5%, on a par with Shenzhen Tencent. MIH was incorporated in South Africa and listed on the NASDAQ and the Dutch exchange market known as the Amsterdam Stock Exchange.

In addition to publicly disclosing details on changes in its capital and business for the first time, Tencent also clearly explained the relationship between the two parties: "Currently, the foreign investor MIH does not control Tencent, nor are investment companies involved in business operation of Tencent. The management and development direction of Tencent is not affected by capital investment or withdrawal by investors. On the other hand, MIH as a strategic investor and companies invested by it have maintained a close business relationship with Tencent.”

Jun.22On June 22, the first convention of China Internet Media Forum was held

On June 22, the first convention of China Media Forum was held in Qingdao, with the theme of "Internet media and the information industry". The convention brought together leaders of the Publicity Department of the CPC Central Committee, the State Council Information Office, Ministry of Information Industry, All-China Journalists Association and other departments and representatives of about 150 Internet media. It was the first high-level, large-scale professional Internet media convention held in China. Cai Mingzhao, deputy director of the State Council Information Office, delivered a speech at the opening ceremony of the State Council and the name of the speech was "Strive to Speed up the Construction of a Socialist Internet Publicity System with Chinese Characteristics".

The first convention of China Media Forum was proposed by All-China Journalists Association and organized by a number of Chinese news media sites in accordance with the discussion results of the 2000 National Internet Media Seminar. The mission of the forum is to promote the construction and development of China's Internet media.

Over the 13 years since 2001, China's Internet industry and Internet media has grown enormously. China Internet Media Forum has become the highest level professional forum as well as the largest professional forum in China's Internet media industry. It has become a platform for promoting communication and collaboration between academia, industry and government and healthy development of China's Internet media industry. The themes and content of all previous conventions of China Internet Media Forum also reflect the development history of China's Internet media.

Dec.11On December 11, the restructuring program in the telecom industry was approved and the "5+1" structure in the telecom market was created

On December 11 when China joined WTO, the State Council officially approved the restructuring program of the telecom industry. According to the program, China Telecom was split up into roughly north sector and south sector. The operations of China Telecom in North China were merged with China Netcom and Ji Tong to form a new company called "China Network Communications Group Corporation"; the southern operations continues to operate under the China Telecom name and retained goodwill and other intangible assets of China Telecom. After the restructuring, a "5+1" structure consisting of China Netcom, China Telecom, China Mobile, China Unicom, China Tietong and China Satellite Communications Group which was incorporated in Beijing on December 19 was formed in China's telecom market.

This restructuring complied with the following two principles: First, China's telecom backbone networks were divided according to the number of optical fiber networks and the information channel capacity. China Network Communications Group Corporation, a group formed by merging China Netcom, Ji Tong and the operations of China Telecom in the 10 provinces in North China, owned 30% of China's telecom networks and the new China Telecom, consisting of China Telecom's operations in 21 provinces in South and West China, owned 70% of China's telecom backbone networks. Second, local access networks were divided by regions, that is, local access networks in the 10 provinces in North China belong to China Netcom, and those in the 21 provinces in South China belong to China Telecom. Furthermore, the southern branch of the new China Netcom will continue to operate, and the new China Telecom is also allowed to launch operations in North China. This restructuring did not involve mobile operations, but Ji Tong disappeared in the process of restructuring.

In the stead of the old China Telecom Group which once ranked 236th in the Fortune Global 500 after its withdrawal from the historical stage were the new China Telecom and the new China Netcom, officially founded on May 13, 2002.

中国互联网博物馆

当前位置:历史馆>>2001

年度综述

2001年初,中国移动通知从2月21日起,信息点播费为通信费加信息费,其中通信费为0.1元/条,部分互联网企业加入到短信服务的淘金队伍之中。另一部分企业主动创造机会,推出了收费邮箱、收费个人主页等收费服务,腾讯也抓住机遇,凭借其巨大的用户基础、丰富多样的收费模式逆势崛起。

2001年也成为中国网络游戏历史性的转折点。2000年网络游戏以《万王之王》萌芽,并在2001年11月盛大代理韩国大型网络游戏《传奇》后大放异彩,成为中国最赚钱的行业之一。

同时,2001年也是中国电信业重组和开放的重要节点。中国电信在这一年进行了拆分,现有资源划分为南、北两个部分。联通在这一年建设成了继GSM网之后的第二个全国性移动通信网络——CDMA网络。铁通也转变成一个对外运营电信业务的经营性公司。这一年中国加入WTO,阿尔卡特同中国签署协议,把在华的主要业务与上海贝尔进行合并,建立新的上海贝尔阿尔卡特公司,这是首家在中国电信领域成立股份制企业的国际公司,标志着电信运营市场的壁垒正在逐步对外资打开。

同年,带给互联网企业生存正能量的还有南金蝶北用友这两家软件企业,它们的上市也带来了国内软件行业股票的全线飘红。

2000年底,《中共中央关于制定国民经济和社会发展第十个五年计划的建议》中大力推进国民经济和社会信息化,是覆盖现代化建设全局的战略举措在2001年得到了充分的推进和发展,企业信息化、教育信息化和政务信息化先后上马;2001年,《信息产业十五规划纲要》于9月正式发布,这是我国确立信息化重大战略后的第一个行业规划。这为整个互联网产业的有序发展提供了坚实基础。

核心事件

1月1日北京华义推出《石器时代》,中国网络游戏市场爆发

1月1日,北京华义推出《石器时代》,正式吹响了中国网络游戏市场进入黄金时代的号角;3月,盛大宣布正式进军在线游戏运营市场;5月,联众世界成长为世界最大在线游戏网站;7月,盛大以30万美元的代价引入韩大型在线游戏《传奇》;7月,游龙在线推出《金庸群侠传Online》,成功地从韩国网络游戏手中夺回了国产游戏的市场,成为2001年最成功的原创网络游戏;11月,网易推出《大话西游Online》,拉起了门户网进军网络游戏产业的战旗,让网络游戏成为了门户网新的利润增长点。这一系列的动作促使中国网络游戏2001年销售额接近5亿元,与单机版游戏平分秋色。这一年也被业界称为网络游戏年。游戏仿佛在一夜之间变成了新兴产业,并在此之后被冠上了极高雅的称谓——第九艺术。

网络游戏属于战略性娱乐文化产业,IT技术的融入使得世界数字娱乐产业蓬勃发展,网络游戏则是其中的主导力量。据IDC数据,2002年网络游戏全球销售额为60亿美元,之后5年,这一产业仍以50%以上的速度持续增长。2008年,中国生机勃发的网络游戏市场当真让韩国媒体惊叹:中国网游已经全面赶超韩国。

2000年到2001年初,国内网络游戏的研发能力非常弱,大部分的运营商都只能代理海外产品,凭着市场广、竞争少、用户多等优势,有人挖到了网游的第一桶金。至2001年底,国外网游一统国内天下的市场格局才初步被国内原创网游厂商与工作室打破,国内网游也慢慢完成从代理角色转为研发原创作品的蜕变,到2001年,开始以平均每月一款游戏上线的速度叩击着2000年就已经跃跃欲试的网络游戏市场。

1月17日搜狐推出手机短信服务(SMS),电信增値业务助互联网企业创收

中国移动继2000年推出了移动梦网计划之后,又在2001年初进行了短信收费业务的调整,117日,搜狐正式宣布全面推出手机短信服务(SMS),新浪、网易、腾讯等互联网公司也纷纷与电信运营商合作推出手机短信服务(SMS)。这一举措为互联网企业提供了创收渠道,逐步帮助中国三大门户网站摆脱持续亏损。到2002年,三大门户都实现了季度盈利。

短信市场井喷也有其必然的外部机遇:一方面网络内容的迅猛发展和手机技术的不断完善赋予短信形式多样化和内容的丰富化,使短信发展具有强有力的支撑点。第二是手机用户的与日俱增,让短信的使用更为普遍,应用需求也更为多元。在这样一个以用户需求为主导的互联网市场环境下,创造了全新的移动互联网信息价值空间。

6月南非传媒MIH收购腾讯46.5%的股份

12月24上午,腾讯公司首次公开资本和业务变化情况,就国际传媒MIH收购QQ(腾讯)46.5%的股份的报道做进一步说明:2001年6月MIH收购了盈科全部和IDG部分持有的腾讯股权,并进一步追加了对腾讯公司的投资,持股比例达到46.5%。

据悉,在这一场收购中,腾讯创始人出售了QQ13.5%的股份,美国投资机构IDG出售了QQ13%的股份,香港投资人李泽楷则出售了持有的全部20%的QQ股份,这让国际传媒MIH(米拉德国际控股集团公司),持有QQ股权的比例则从达到了与深圳腾讯持平的46.5%。MIH起源于南非,并在美国纳斯达克和荷兰阿姆斯特丹股票交易市场上市。

在首次公开资本和业务变化情况的同时,腾讯公司也明确表达了两者的关系,目前外资投资者中的MIH并没有控股腾讯,投资公司也不介入腾讯的运营,公司的管理和发展方向并没有因投资者的正常资本运作而发生变化。另一方面,作为策略投资者,MIH及其投资的企业与腾讯公司一直保持紧密业务合作关系。

6月22日首届中国网络媒体论坛举行

6月22日,首届中国网络媒体论坛在青岛举行,本届论坛主题为网络媒体与信息产业,汇聚了中宣部、国务院新闻办、信息产业部、中华全国新闻工作者协会等部门的负责人以及全国近150家网络媒体代表,是中国网络媒体首次举行的高层次、大规模的专业论坛。开幕式上时任国务院新闻办副主任的蔡名照同志做了题为《为加快建立有中国特色的社会主义网络新闻宣传体系而努力奋斗》的主题演讲。

首届中国网络媒体论坛,是在《2000全国新闻媒体网络传播研讨会》上,由中华全国新闻工作者协会建议,全国数十家新闻媒体网站共同发起设立的,宗旨是推进中国网络媒体的建设和发展。

从2001年至今,中国互联网产业和网络媒体走过了蓬勃发展的13年,中国网络媒体论坛也已成为我国网络媒体界最高层次、最大规模的专业论坛,成为政府、业界、学界的重要交流与合作平台,促进了中国网络媒体产业的健康发展。历届中国网络媒体论坛的主题和内容,也成为中国网络媒体发展轨迹的写照。

12月11日电信改革方案获批准,“5+1”的电信格局形成

12月11日,中国加入WTO的同日,国务院正式批准了电信体制改革方案。根据该方案,中国电信现有资源将被划分为南、北两个部分,北方部分和网通、吉通重组为中国网络通信集团公司;南方部分则保留中国电信集团公司名称,继续拥有中国电信的商誉和无形资产。这样,重组后的中国电信业就形成包括网通、中国电信、中国移动、联通、铁通以及12月19日在京挂牌的中国卫星通信集团在内的“5+1”的市场格局。

在这次拆分中,体现了两大原则:一是中国电信长途骨干网将按照光纤数和信道容量进行分家,其中北方十省与网通、吉通合并后的中国网络通信集团公司占有30%,南方和西部21省组成新的中国电信占有70%。第二个原则是本地接入网将按照属地原则划分,即北方十省的本地网资源归中国网通,南方和21省的本地网归新的中国电信。另外,现网通在南方的分公司将继续存续,而新的中国电信也被允许到北方发展业务,这次重组暂时不涉及移动业务,但在重组过程中吉通公司消失。

曾经一度在全球500强中排名236位的中国电信集团就这样退出了历史舞台,随之而来的是2002年5月13日,新电信和新网通正式挂牌成立。