China Internet Museum

Current Position: History>>1998

Annual Review

Looking back at 1998, we can recall the fight against flood and disaster relief, the France World Cup and the bitter Indonesia riot. In the field of Internet, 1998 was a very important year. It was the year of exploration for business modes of Internet applications. In this year, portal websites started to become important Internet application and e-commerce started to make transactions. In this year, environment for venture capital started to be improved and financing paths for Internet enterprises were gradually clarified. Moreover, Ministry of Information Industry was established in the spring of the year as the superior authority of the Internet industry.

China's first government news portal people.cn was founded back in 1997, but the true year of portal websites in the history of China's Internet was 1998. In this year, value of portal websites was recognized by the Internet circle. Sina, NetEase and other portals that profoundly influenced Chinese people's way of information inquiry started to emerge out of transformation from other modes in this year. Except for these business websites, central news portals such as website of Xinhua News Agency (later renamed Xinhua Net), Gmw.cn and CRI Online and local portals such as online.sh.cn and wuhan.net.cn were gradually launched. Though portal products were not mature at that time and advertising income was limited, the portal age of Internet was gradually ushered in.

E-commerce attracted increasingly greater attention in this year. China's first online transaction was made in March and the first e-commerce contract was generated online. In this year, Jack Ma returned to Hangzhou and founded Alibaba together with others. An e-commerce kingdom was therefore unsealed.

In this year, the industry of venture capital closely related with Internet started to develop. The internationally famous venture capital agency IDG started to invest in new-tech industry in China and a proposal on venture capital development was confirmed as the proposal of top priority in the year's CPPCC conference. Development of venture capital solved the capital dilemma for Internet enterprises and laid the foundation for lasting prosperity of the Internet industry later.

Besides, this year, newly established Ministry of Information Industry was identified as the superior authority of the Internet industry. Existence of a superior was favorable to industrial regulation and development.

Key Events

1998In 1998, Sina and NetEase were transformed into portal websites and official news portals were launched as well

In 1998, an article titled Wars of Portals by Jiang Fengnian introduced the concept of portal website that prevailed overseas into China. Immediately, portal websites became the direction of transformation for the Internet circle.

In this year, Stone Richsight (predecessor of sina.com.cn) was transformed into a portal website. 1998 France World Cup attracted attention of the entire world and also made Chinese forum Stone Richsight popular. The website translated foreign news coverage on the World Cup in a real-time manner and won extremely high popularity with rapid, comprehensive and timely information service. On October 20, former Stone Richsight forum was changed to SRSNET and announced to launch a network portal website. In December, it acquired an information website Taiwan Huayuan, launched sina.com.cn and became a news portal website.

In this year, Ding Lei also realized that selling online advertisement via portal service was a reliable profit-making mode. In September, NetEase changed its homepage to Internet portal and launched the domain name of netease.com, which was later changed to 163.

In this year, Sohu was still at the eve of revolution. On September 15, it launched SOHOO 2.0 version, but remained a Chinese search engine. In the next March, it was comprehensively reformed into a portal website.

Official news portals were also launched one after another. On January 1 of this year, gmw.cn under GuangMing Daily was officially launched as one of the earliest news portals in China. On December 16, Beijing Municipal Government's website "The Window of the Capital" was launched, becoming China's first high-level government portal website. On December 26, the website of China Radio International, namely, CRI Online, was officially released.

Local portals kept emerging one after another as well. Websites including online.sh.cn, wuhan.net.cn, jlonline.com, Tanfo Online, 269.net and gznet.com were all gradually matured portals that integrated regional information at that time.

Mar.In March, Cheng Siwei submitted the Proposal on Accelerating Development of China's Venture Capital Undertaking

Development of Internet cannot proceed without capital and maturing of the capital circle is a major guarantee of development of the Internet industry. In 1998, development of venture capital finally started in China. In this year, Cheng Siwei, former Vice Chairman of the NPC Standing Committee and Chairman of China Democratic National Construction Association, submitted to the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC) the Proposal on Accelerating Development of China's Venture Capital Undertaking, which was listed as the proposal of top priority of the year by CPPCC. This exerted profound influence over China's venture capital and hi-tech industry and the system building concerning venture capital was unfolded consequently.

On October 27, famous international venture capital agency IDG signed a memorandum with Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology. It planned to invest USD1 billion in Chinese hi-tech enterprises to support their development (software, Internet, communication etc.) and would provide Chinese businesses with value added services such as market analysis. In 1998, IDG initiated its first investment project in China, Kingdee software. In the following few years, it continued to offer financial support for Tencent, Baidu, Home Inn, Sohu, Fang.com and eachnet.com.

Maturing of the venture capital environment was significant to survival and development of Internet. At the early stage of start-up, Internet enterprises usually focused on user accumulation and lacked channels for generating income. At this point, financing service provided by angel investors and venture capital providers seemed extremely important. The majority of Chinese private Internet enterprises managed to tide over the early stage of capital shortage by relying on venture capital. Therefore, a mature venture capital market played an important role of support for Internet industry at the start-up stage.

1998 In 1998, Digital Forum, a platform for pooling Internet-related ideas, was set up

As the concept of Internet attracted increasingly greater attention in China, forums and salons themed Internet started to emerge. In 1998, Digital Forum was set up. It was a specialized Internet forum organization that started early in China and played an admirable role of promoting communication and pooling ideas. The core members included Wang Junxiu, Fang Xingdong, Jiang Qiping, Guo Liang, Wu Bofan, Hu Yong, Duan Yongchao, Wang Dingding, Wu Xiaobo and Lv Benfu. Digital Forum was originally named iClub and was held once a month. It was the most influential activity during the time of Internet wave and early-stage Internet elites such as Wang Zhidong, Zhang Chaoyang, Ding Lei and Wang Juntao almost all participated in the activity.

Digital Forum grew along with China's Internet. Adhered to the tenet of "based on the Internet spirit" , it gathered elites from different fields to discuss in depth major Internet-related events worldwide, important policies, profound social issues and global frontier and trend in the form of open forums. By doing so, it built up the primary interaction platform for pooling new ideas on China's Internet.

Digital Forum gathered industrial leaders, thinkers, entrepreneurs and service providers and promoted frontier Internet ideas to form and converge, playing an important role of enlightenment for domestic Internet industry.

Mar.6On March 6, China's first online transaction was completed

E-commerce started to rise in 1998. At 3:30 on the afternoon of March 6, China's first online e-commercial transaction was successfully completed. Beijing citizen Wang Keping purchased ten hours of Internet surfing service from 21Vianet via e-banking of Bank of China. The few simple steps were a big step in China's Internet history. Shortly afterwards, China's first e-commerce contract was generated in the transaction between Shaanxi Huaxing Electronic Co., Ltd and Beijing Haixing Kaizhuo Computer Co., Ltd on the network of China Commodity Exchange Center. Since then, the concept of e-commerce was gradually introduced into application. In July 1998, CNNIC survey statistics showed that users hoping for online shopping accounted for 78.1%, while those unwilling for online shopping only 21.9%.

Later, spirited discussions about e-commerce were unfolded. In September, the First Financial E-commerce Seminar was held by School of Banking and Finance, signaling that the academic circle started to discuss e-commerce in theory. In November, the First China International Seminar on E-commerce Strategy was held in Beijing.

As a form of Internet application that developed early, e-commerce finally started to rise in 1998. At that time, there was no way for people to imagine that over ten years later, e-commerce transaction amount would reach trillions and commodity varieties would be extremely rich. The force of Internet was always beyond our imagination.

Mar.In March, Ministry of Information Industry was established

On March 9, 1998, according to the institutional reform plan of State Council reviewed and approved by the First Session of the Ninth National People's Congress, former Ministry of Posts and Telecommunication and Ministry of Electronics Industry were combined into Ministry of Information Industry. On March 31, the newly established Ministry of Information Industry was officially unveiled in Beijing. Its main tasks were to rejuvenate electronics manufacturing, software industry and communications and promote informatization of national economy and social service.

Ministry of Information Industry existed for ten years as the superior authority of the Internet industry and was included into the newly founded Ministry of Industry and Information Technology during the institution reform in 2008. Over the ten years, there were two ministers altogether, namely Wu Jichuan and Wang Xudong. With Ministry of Information Industry being established, there was eventually a specialized department to administer Internet industrial policies, market order and formulation of related laws and rules. On September 18, 1998, the Ministry issued the Notice Concerning Issues on Practice of the Business License System for International Internet Business of Computer Information Networks, distinctly identifying ICP services and clarifying the industrial market order. The Notice also set a new milestone in the Ministry's regulation over the Internet industry.

Jul.In July, Mtone Wireless took the lead to launch commercial wireless information service

Mtone Wireless, which was incorporated in 1994 by PhD. Wang Weijia that studied in US, was the first company in China to get engaged in wireless value added business. In 1998, the company took the lead in mainland China to launch commercial wireless information service and also provide securities traders with wide area wireless securities trading application based on special wireless terminal. In this year, Mtone Wireless secured a USD9.8 million investment by Intel Capital.

The company could be described as China's earliest mobile Internet service provider, but it was not well known by the public. Today, it has shifted its main business to cell-phone application service and one third of its income derives from cell-phone games.

Jun. In June, China Internet Weekly was founded

In 1998, China Internet Weekly that focused on Internet-related news coverage was founded, becoming a major media on the Internet industry. Supervised by Chinese Academy of Sciences and hosted by Science Press, it was a bi-monthly journal that was published on 5th and 20th every month. China Internet Weekly targeted its reader groups at new businessmen, including IT practitioners, IT researchers, people following news on Internet and IT and netizens. As stated at its official website, by paying attention to new growth and discovering new growth poles in IT industry, new information-based ways of production and new consumption modes of Internet users, everyone can have his/her business value improved.

China Internet Weekly, as an Internet media that emerged early, witnessed ups and downs of China's Internet over the past ten years and could be named the living fossil of China's Internet civilization and business.

Mar.22 On March 22, The First Intimate Contact started to be serialized online

1998 was also the year of start-up for Internet literature. Taiwanese writer Tsai Jhi-heng (with pen name Pizi Cai) published The First Intimate Contact in the form of online installments and caused a sensation among the readers and even Chinese people across the world. This was the first literature work that ever succeeded online, signaling that Internet literature entered the stage of start-up and that Internet writers and readers entered the stage of cultivation.

The novel told a bitter love story, which happened in Tainan and Taipei in Taiwan. The protagonist meets and falls in love with a girl on the Internet. They eventually meet up in real life and become a couple. However, the girl is diagnosed with lupus erythematosus. The disease proves to be fatal and the girl ends up passing away. The novel integrated popular elements at that time such as the movie Titanic and New Year’s Eve. It started to be published in an electronic bulletin system of National Cheng Kung University on the early morning of March 22. Later, it was forwarded online many times, collected into a book and filmed into a movie and a TV series with the name title. The novel also exerted immense influence over college students in mainland China and many classic sentences therein were quite popular among the readers.

The novel made its writer Tsai Jhi-heng overwhelmingly famous and also opened the curtain of Internet literature profoundly affecting people's way of reading. "Internet literature getting famous – publishing books – filming movies or TV series or producing games" became a major path for Internet writers to make profit and expand influence. It was fair to say that popularity of The First Intimate Contact was of high demonstrative significance to Internet literature afterwards. In this year, a group of Internet writers in mainland China also started to get active and appear in major network forums, such as Xing Yusen, Lu Jinbo with the pen name "Li Xunhuan" and Chen Wanning with the pen name "Ning mammon".

Dec.In December, Indonesia riot triggered "the first online homeland defense"

Netizens expressing patriotic feelings online for the first time also took place in 1998. In this year, subject to the impact of Asian Financial Crisis, Indonesia suffered intensified social contradictions and an extremely brutal riot against Chinese broke out. The sad fact that a large number Chinese people were slaughtered and shops were robbed aroused indignation of Chinese netizens. In December, in the face of the crime committed by the mobs, some Chinese hackers took up the weapon of Internet to attack the mobs'website, paralyzing several Indonesian websites. The hackers hung the Chinese national flag on the attacked websites and left stern warnings.

This was the first time for netizens to express strong emotions in a large scale online and called the "first homeland defense online". In the following over ten years, multiple homeland defense events happened online, such as the collective sensations expressed online after the China-US plane crash in 1999 and the Wenchuan earthquake in 2008.

中国互联网博物馆

当前位置:历史馆>>1998

年度综述

回忆1998年,我们能想到的是抗洪救灾、法国世界杯以及惨痛的印尼排华事件。在互联网领域,1998年是重要一年。1998年是互联网应用的商业模式逐步探索的一年。这一年,门户网站开始成为重要的互联网应用,电子商务开始交易。这一年,风险投资的环境开始改善,互联网企业的融资路径逐步明确。另外,信息产业部也在这一年春天成立,正式成为互联网产业的主管部门。

国内第一家政府新闻门户人民网在1997年就成立了,但中国互联网史上真正的门户之年却是1998年。正是在这一年,门户网站的价值为互联网业界所认可。新浪、网易等深度影响中国人信息获取的门户网站都是这一年开始由其他模式转型而来。除了这些商业网站,新华通讯社网站(后更名新华网)、光明网、国际在线等中央级新闻门户与上海热线、武汉热线等地方门户也逐步建立起来。虽然当时的门户产品不成熟,广告收入也很少,但毕竟逐步开启了互联网的门户时代。

这一年的电子商务也开始越来越受关注。3月份我国第一笔网上交易宣告达成,第一份电子商务合同也在网络生成。这一年,马云回到杭州,与其他人共同创立阿里巴巴,一个电子商务王国就此开启。

这一年,与互联网息息相关的风险投资行业也开始起步,国际著名风投机构IDG开始在华投资新技术产业,关于发展风险投资的议案也被定为当年政协会议的一号提案。风险投资的发展为互联网企业解决了资金困境,这才有了日后互联网产业的长期繁荣。

另外,这一年,互联网行业的主管部门明确为新成立的信息产业部。有了行业主管部门,对于产业规范发展来说是个好事。

核心事件

1998年新浪网易转型门户,官方新闻门户也纷纷建立

1998年,姜丰年的一篇《门户大战》的文章将国外流行的门户网站概念引入中国,一时间,门户成为互联网业界转型的方向。

这一年,四通利方(即后来的新浪)转型门户。1998年法国世界杯受到全球瞩目,也催火了国内中文论坛四通利方。这个网站对国外世界杯新闻报道进行了即时翻译,凭借快速、全面、及时的资讯服务获得了极高人气。10月20日原四通利方论坛改为四通在线,宣布推出网络门户站点,12月收购资讯网站台湾华渊,推出新浪网,成为新闻资讯门户。

这一年,丁磊也认识到通过门户服务售卖在线广告是个可靠的盈利模式,9月,网易将它的主页改成网络门户,启用了netease.com的域名,后来又改为163。

这一年的搜狐仍处在变革前夜,9月15日推出了SOHOO 2.0版,依然是中文搜索引擎,次年3月全面改版为门户网站。

官方新闻门户也在开通。这一年的1月1日,光明日报下属的光明网正式开通,这是最早的新闻门户之一。12月16日,北京市政府“首都之窗”站点开通,成为我国第一个级别较高的政府门户。12月26日,中国国际广播电台网站——“国际在线”(CRI Online)正式对外发布。

地方门户也在不断涌现,上海热线、武汉热线、南京金陵热线、成都天府热线、西安古城热线、广州视窗等都是当时逐步成熟的整合区域内信息的门户网站。

3月成思危提交《关于加快我国风险投资事业的提案》

互联网的发展离不开资本,资本圈的成熟是互联网产业发展的重要保障。1998年,我国的风险投资事业终于起步。在1998年,前全国人大常委会副委员长、民建中央主席成思危代表民建中央向全国政协提交了《关于加快我国风险投资事业的提案》,被列为当年政协“一号提案”。这对我国风险投资和高科技行业影响深远,关于风险投资的制度建设也由此展开。

10月27日,国际著名风险投资机构IDG与中国科技部签署备忘录,IDG表示将向中国高科技企业投资10亿美元,支持中国高技术企业(软件、互联网、通信等)发展,还将为中国企业提供市场分析等方面的增值服务。1998年,IDG在国内的首个投资案例是金蝶软件。之后的几年,IDG持续为腾讯、百度、如家、搜狐、搜房、易趣等企业提供了资金支持。

风险投资环境的成熟对于互联网生存发展意义重大。互联网企业在创业初期,往往是用户积累阶段,缺乏创收渠道。这时候天使投资人与风险投资商的融资服务就显得非常重要。中国大多数民营互联网企业都是靠风险投资的资金度过了早期的资金短缺阶段。因此,一个成熟的风险投资市场对于创业期的互联网产业而言有重要的支持作用。

1998年互联网思想交汇聚合平台“数字论坛”成立

随着互联网概念在中国越来越受关注,互联网主题的论坛、沙龙也开始出现。1998年,数字论坛成立,这是国内较早的专业性互联网论坛组织,起到了沟通业界、汇聚思想的良好作用。核心成员包括王俊秀、方兴东、姜奇平、郭良、吴伯凡、胡泳、段永朝、汪丁丁、吴晓波和吕本富。“数字论坛”活动早期名称为“互联网俱乐部(iClub),每月一期,是互联网热潮期间最具影响力的活动,王志东、张朝阳、丁磊、王峻涛等早期互联网精英几乎都参与。

“数字论坛”活动伴随中国互联网成长,秉承“以互联网精神为本”的宗旨,以开放式的论坛形式,汇聚各领域数字精英,围绕全球互联网重大热点事件、重要政策、社会深层次问题、全球前沿趋势等内容,打造中国互联网新思想第一互动平台。

“数字论坛”汇聚了业界领袖、思想家、创业者、服务人员,促成了前沿互联网思想的形成、交汇,对于国内互联网产业起到了重要的思想启蒙作用。

3月6日我国第一笔网上交易完成

电子商务在1998年开始兴起。3月6日下午3:30,国内第一笔网上电子商务交易成功。北京居民王轲平通过中国银行网银从世纪互联购买了10小时的上网机时。这几步简单的操作完成了中国互联网历史的一大步。之后不久,中国第一份电子商务合同在中国商品交易中心的网络上由陕西华星公司与北京海星凯卓计算机公司的交易而生成。由此开始,电子商务概念逐步进入应用层面。1998年 7月,CNNIC调查数据显示,希望网购的用户占78.1%,表示不想网购的用户比例为21.9%。

此后关于电子商务的讨论热烈展开。9月,第一届金融业电子商务研讨会由中国金融学院举办,标志着学术界从理论上开始对电子商务的探讨。11月,第一届中国电子商务战略国际研讨会在北京召开。

电子商务属于发展较早的互联网应用,在1998年终于起步。当时的人们肯定无法想象十几年后电子商务交易额可以达到数万亿,品类也异常丰富。互联网的力量总是超出人的想象。

3月信息产业部成立

1998年3月9日,根据九届全国人大一次会议审议批准的国务院机构改革方案,原邮电部和电子部合并组建中华人民共和国信息产业部。3月31日,新组建的信息产业部正式在北京挂牌。信息产业部担负的主要任务包括振兴电子产品制造业、软件业和通信产业,推进国民经济和社会服务信息化等。

信息产业部是互联网产业的主管部门,存续了10年,2008年机构改革中整体划入新成立的工业和信息化部。10年间共有两任部长,分别是吴基传和王旭东。信息产业部的出现使互联网的产业政策、市场秩序、法律法规制定等终于有了专业部门来管理。1998年9月18日,信息产业部下发《关于计算机信息网络国际联网业务实行经营许可证制度有关问题的通知》,对ICP服务有了明显界定,行业市场秩序开始明晰。这则通知也开启了信息产业部对互联网产业监管的新里程。

7月美通无线率先推出商用无线信息服务

成立于1994年的美通无线是中国最早进入无线增值业务的公司,由留美博士王维嘉创立。1998年,美通无线在中国内地率先推出商用无线信息服务,也为券商提供基于专用无线终端的广域无线证券交易应用。在该年度,美通无线获得英特尔资本980万美元投资。

美通无线可以说是中国最早的移动互联网服务提供商,但这家公司并不为人所熟知。目前美通无线主业已经转型为手机客户端的应用服务,公司约三分之一的收入来自手机游戏。

6月《互联网周刊》成立

1998年,专注于报道互联网行业的《互联网周刊》成立,成为互联网行业的重要媒体。主管单位为中国科学院,主办单位为科学出版社,目前为半月刊,每月5日、20日出版。《互联网周刊》目标读者群体为新商业人士,包括IT从业人员、IT行业研究人员、关注互联网与IT行业的群体、网民群体等。《互联网周刊》官网称:关注新成长,通过发现信息技术产业的新增长点、信息化的新生产方式以及互联网用户的新消费方式,使人的商业价值得到提升。

《互联网周刊》是出现较早的互联网媒体,见证了中国互联网十几年的繁荣与低谷、得与失、兴衰与荣辱,可谓中国互联网文明与商业的活化石。

3月22日《第一次的亲密接触》开始网络连载

1998年也是网络文学的起步之年,笔名为“痞子蔡”的台湾人蔡智恒在网络上连载小说《第一次的亲密接触》,在读者群中甚至华人圈里引起轰动。这是第一部在网络平台获得成功的文学作品,标志着网络文学开始进入起步阶段,网络写手与网络读者均进入培育期。

《第一次的亲密接触》讲述了一个凄美的爱情故事,故事发生在台湾的台南与台北。男女主人公通过网络认识、熟知,见面相处后发展成为恋人关系,后女主角因为红斑狼疮复发住进医院,病情加重而离世。小说融合了当时流行的时尚元素如电影泰坦尼克号、跨年夜等。小说于1998年3月22日凌晨在台南成功大学的电子布告栏“成大资讯所”与“猫咪乐园”开始发表,连载后被多次转载,集结成书,并拍摄了同名电影和电视剧。小说在中国大陆大学生群体中也产生了极大影响力,文中很多经典名句为读者所熟知。

这部小说使作者“痞子蔡”名声大噪,也揭开了网络文学深度影响人们阅读生活的大幕。网络文学大热→出版实体书→拍摄电影电视剧或者制作游戏也成为网络文学作者获取收益、扩大影响力的主要路径。可以说《第一次的亲密接触》的大热对于以后的网络文学具有极高的示范意义。这一年的大陆网络文学中,也有一批写手开始活跃,混迹于各大网络论坛,比如刑育森、笔名“李寻欢”的路金波、笔名“宁财神”的陈万宁。

12月印尼排华事件引发“第一次网络卫国”

网民第一次通过网络表达爱国情绪也是在1998年。这一年,深受亚洲金融危机影响的印度尼西亚社会矛盾激化,发生惨绝人寰的排华事件,大量华人被屠杀,商店被抢劫,激起了中国网民的愤慨。12月,面对印尼反华暴徒的罪行,中国的一些计算机黑客将Internet作为武器,向印尼反华暴徒的网站发动了攻击,造成印尼多家网站瘫痪。黑客们在被侵入的网站上悬挂中国五星红旗,并留下措辞严厉的警告词。

这是网民第一次大规模通过网络形式表达强烈情绪,史称“第一次网络卫国”。此后的十几年,在网络上还出现了多次网络卫国,如1999年中美撞机事件,2008年的汶川地震发生后出现的集体网络情绪。