China Internet Museum

Current Position: History>>1996

Annual Review

By 1996, Internet was no longer exclusive to senior intellectuals, but displayed its nature as public infrastructure. Therefore, how to make Internet better serve the public became a top issue on the agenda of the country. First, great attention was paid to support for and management over Internet on the national level and corresponding specifications on technology implementation and management were formulated to promote healthy development of Internet industry, drive the emerging technology of Internet to better serve the public in a wider scope and help make contribution to social civilization advancement. Second, in concert with government's active efforts for improving network management, construction of city network in local areas accelerated. Shanghai Public Information Network was built and CNINFO.NET launched its first group of stations such as Guangdong Gent, Sichuan Tanfo Online and Shanghai Online. Under such influence, Beijing's first Internet bar Spark Internet Café was opened for service, attracting a large number of netizens. These Internet service projects were close to people's life and released people's passion for Internet. Third, far-sighted start-ups and entrepreneurs with global vision predicted that Internet would play an unprecedented role in China and bring Chinese businessmen a tremendous market. Therefore, these pioneers devoted themselves into Internet without hesitation, with the hope of standing out and making great achievements.

To sum up, this year, the influence of Internet on Chinese people already expanded from ideology to realistic life. Government had an increasingly clearer mind on regulating Internet; the business circle was eager to have a try, attempting to seize the opportunity; ordinary people started to experience the magic that Internet did over their life. All these were closely related with people's passion for Internet, because netizens hoped to be able to freely enjoy the brand new experience of Internet in an increasingly mature network environment. The most distinct feature was emergence of business websites and rising network start-ups. They started the prelude to China's Internet start-up wave, which was to be followed by even more brilliant chapters.

Key Events

Feb.1On February 1, Interim Provisions on Administration of the International Networking of Computer Information Networks in the People's Republic of China (Decree No. 195 of the State Council) was promulgated

Since telecommunication service was opened to the public, government paid special attention to Internet, an industry with enormous potential. After CHINANET national backbone network was built in January, on February 1, 1996, the State Council promulgated the Interim Provisions on Administration of the International Networking of Computer Information Networks in the People's Republic of China (Decree No. 195). The Provisions was an effort to regulate access to international Internet on the legal level for the first time, consolidating the foundation for benign development of Internet industry, objectively encouraging more Chinese start-ups to innovate and creating a favorable public opinion environment in general. Shortly afterwards, then Ministry of Posts and Telecommunication issued the Measures for Administration of Internet International Networking of Public Computers in China, which took effect as of the date of issuance. In June, The State Council Informatization Leading Group was established to develop the Internet undertaking in China. All of these efforts paved a solid road for perfecting the Internet management system.

Apr.In April, the Stone Richsight launched SRSNET

At the beginning of 1990s, Stone Richsight was founded. Wang Zhidong and Yan Yuanchao were the earliest core management members of the company and also renowned programmers in China. Though the Rich Win series software made Stone Richsight quite famous at that time, the company had to develop new businesses and seize opportunities especially when Internet started to rise in China.

On April 29, 1996, development of Stone Richsight's first Chinese website kicked off and Xinyi Multi-media Team founded by Wang Yan and Li Songbo (current Vice President of sina.com.cn) was integrated into the company. Stone Richsight set up International Network Department in the charge of the two persons to focus on building of the website SRSNET. Given that domestic Internet backbone networks lacked interconnection channels back then, and also in order to facilitate Chinese all over the world to visit the website, the Department decided to place the server in US.

With its far-sighted vision and strategic development strategies, Stone Richsight set foot in Internet and launched the first Chinese Internet platform especially designed for online users, RichWin for Internet. In May of the same year, several ISPs and ICPs in Hong Kong and US reached out to Stone Richsight, hoping that the company could provide the simplified version of RichWin. As the complete version seemed unnecessary for Internet applications, the company wisely signed contracts with the ISPs and ICPs and provided them with the simplified version of RichWin, which is placed at overseas Chinese websites for download by netizens.

Venture capital providers saw the company's potential in business growth. In October 1997, Stone Richsight secured USD6.5 million venture capital from three venture capital enterprises including Walden International, Bank of America and Ivanhoe Group. This was the first venture capital secured by Chinese IT industry.

Aug. In August, Zhang Chaoyang founded Aitexin, the predecessor of Sohu

On November 1, 1995, PhD. Zhang Chaoyang returned to China from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. In August 1996, with the support of Prof. Nicholas Negroponte (author of the book Being Digital) and US venture capital, he founded Aitexin Co., Ltd and launched Aitexin website. Aitexin became China's first Internet company invested with venture capital.

One part of the content of the Aitexin website was categorized search, which was named "Aitexin Compass". Due to its relevance to search, it was renamed as "搜乎" (SOHU, "搜" meaning "search"), which was derived from a term in traditional Chinese culture. During its second round of financing, Aitexin identified SOHU business as its major direction of development in the future. Given that in both Chinese and world culture, fox represented wit, agility and wisdom, which were also the features of search engine service, in November 1997, "搜乎" was renamed "搜狐" (SOHOO, "狐" meaning "fox").

In the year of 1997, content on the Aitexin information platform became an important part of information on CHINANET (163). In February 1998, Aitexin successfully introduced USD2.2 million investment from Intel and IDG and managed to promote SOHOO, China's own search engine among the broad Chinese netizens. The brand of SOHOO was officially born. In October, the domain name SOHOO.COM was change to SOHU.COM. "Get a map when you go far away, go to SOHOO when you get online" and SOHOO opened the magical door to the Internet world for Chinese netizens thereafter. In 1999, the English name of SOHOO was changed to SOHU (http://www. sohu.com). Over a short span of half of a year, it developed into one of the Chinese websites with most visitors and highest popularity in China. Aitexin also rapidly grew into an Internet company with more than 70 employees, with branches in Shanghai and Guangzhou.

Up to today, SOHU has always been taking meeting users' Internet demand and experience as its mission and developed into a navigator of China's Internet. It has influenced 80% of Chinese netizens and become their mainstream information media and a platform of life, entertainment, communication and interaction.

1996The book Being Digital by Nicholas Negroponte was published in China

The book Being Digital was extremely popular in China after it was published in 1996. In 1995, Nicholas Negroponte, who was called godfather of information technology investment and trend analysis, published 18 articles in the column Connection. The articles were collected into a book and published, which was the famous Being Digital.

In 1996 when Hu Yong saw the English book sample, he intuitively believed that the book would become The Third Wave of the 1990s. The book happened to appear when China needed Internet enlightenment and such a historical turning point was not easy to find. At that time, Hu was writing Network Is the King, but he decided to suspend the writing immediately and start the translation work. The publisher originally hoped to imitate the translation of Taiwan and name the book "数位革命" in Chinese, but Hu insisted with the title "数字化生存". Hu Yong cooperated with Fan Haiyan to split the translation work by half and finished it in 20 days. Once published, the book became overwhelmingly popular.

In 1996, Internet in China was like a desert, which most people barely understood. Although it was said there were 620,000 Chinese netizens, the majority of them were computer practitioners. The network was not only slow in speed, but also unstable. As Hu Yong, the Chinese translator of Being Digital, said, "the time of the book in 1996" happened to be "a critical moment of transformation from ivory tower to crossroad!"

It was fair to say that Being Digital was the bible of information technology/concept development in the 20th century and its prevalence and transmission exerted profound influence over enlightenment and development of the information age in the century. It was even more meaningful for the over one billion Chinese people. For most regular readers, the book displayed an admirable picture of high-tech life; for wave riders of the information economy, it brought even more changes. In 1997, Hu Yong finished writing of the suspended Network Is the King and Tian Suning bought over ten thousands of copies to hand out. As Hu recalled, Tian was building network infrastructure in a large scale nationwide at that time. Once, when he visited Guizhou and was asked by local officials as for his purpose of the visit, he replied: "I came to build information expressway." The local officials said you should contact Department of Transportation because they were in charge of road building.

中国互联网博物馆

当前位置:历史馆>>1996

年度综述

1996年的时候,互联网已经不再是高级知识分子专享的特供品,而是显示出公共基础设施属性的一面。因此,如何让互联网更好地为更广大的民众服务,成为国家与社会考虑的重要议题。首先,国家层面非常重视对互联网的扶持与管理,出台相应的技术实施与管理的规范,促进互联网产业的健康发展,让互联网这一新兴技术更好地、更广泛地为公众服务,为社会文明进步做出贡献。其次,与政府部门积极提升网络管理水平形成呼应的是,各地城域网建设步伐加快,上海公共信息网建成,中国公众多媒体通信网(169网)也开通了广东视聆通、四川天府热线、上海热线等首批站点,并且受此影响,中国北京第一家网吧“北京实华开网络咖啡屋”开业,吸引了大量追捧互联网的网民,这些接地气的互联网服务项目与内容,释放了人们对互联网的热爱和向往之情。第三,具有前沿眼光和全球视野的创业者、企业家们看到了互联网将要在中国大地上扮演着史无前例的角色,同时会给中国的商业从业者们带来巨大的市场空间,于是这些创业先行者们义无反顾投身互联网,以期未来在网络上大展拳脚。

总之,这一年互联网带给国人的影响已经从意识层面转到实际生活层面,上至国家规范管理互联网的思路愈加清晰,再到产业界跃跃欲试,试图抓住商业先机,下至普通老百姓开始体会到互联网给现实生活带来的神奇。这些都与人们对互联网的热情期盼密切相关,因为网民期待和盼望着在不断成熟的网络环境下,能够自由享受互联网带来的全新体验。其中最明显的特征是商业网站的出现,以及初露头角的网络创业公司,他们敲起了中国互联网创业热潮的前奏曲,后面更为精彩的乐章即将上场。

核心事件

2月1日《中华人民共和国计算机信息网络国际联网管理暂行规定》(国务院195号令)

自电信服务向公众开放之后,国家对互联网这一具有极大潜力的产业给予特别重视。随着1月份中国公用计算机互联网(CHINANET)全国骨干网建成,199621日,国务院第195号令发布了《中华人民共和国计算机信息网络国际联网管理暂行规定》。该规定是首次在法律层面对接入国际互联网加以规范,从而进一步夯实了互联网产业良性发展的基础,并且客观上鼓励了国内创业者大胆创新的勇气,整体上营造了较好的社会舆论环境。紧接着,当时的邮电部发布《中国公用计算机互联网国际联网管理办法》,并自发布之日起实施。6月份,国务院信息化工作领导小组也宣布成立,决定大力发展中国互联网事业。上述法律法规的出台以及相应领导小组的确立,对完善互联网管理体制起到了很好的基础作用。

4月四通利方推出利方在线

20世纪90年代初,四通利方公司成立,王志东、严援朝是四通利方最早的核心管理人员,也是国内著名的程序设计师。四通利方发展Internet业务的背景是,虽然Rich-Win系列软件让四通利方名声大噪,但必须努力开发新的业务方向,尤其是在国内Internet开始显现崛起势头的时候,不能错过大好先机。

1996429日,四通利方的第一个中文网站建设启动,当时由汪延和李嵩波(现任新浪副总裁)创建的新驿多媒体小组融入四通利方,四通利方成立以他们两位为主的国际网络部,负责建设网站“利方在线”(SRSNET)。由于当时国内Internet骨干网之间缺少互联信道,同时为了方便全球华人来访,四通利方国际网络部决定将服务器设置在美国。

四通利方以其高远的眼识和战略性的发展策略,涉足于世人瞩目的Internet事业,推出首家Internet专为网上用户设计的一个中文平台RichWin for Internet。同年5月,香港和美国几家ISPICP找到四通利方,希望四通利方提供RichWin简化版。RichWin完整版对于Internet应用来说显得不必要,四通利方明智地和这些ISPICP签约,为他们提供RichWin简化版,放在海外中文站点上,供网友任意下载。

风险投资商看到了其业务增长的潜力。199710月四通利方获得来自美国华登集团、美洲银行罗世公司及艾芬豪国际集团三家风险投资企业的650万美元风险投资,这也是国内IT业获得的第一笔风险投资。

8月张朝阳创办搜狐前身——爱特信公司

1995111日,张朝阳博士从美国麻省理工学院回国。19968月在尼葛洛庞帝教授(《数字化生存》一书作者)和美国风险资金的支持下张朝阳创建了爱特信公司,建立爱特信网站,成为中国第一家以风险资金建立的互联网公司。

爱特信网站中一部分内容是分类搜索,称作“爱特信指南针”。因为与搜索相关,结合中国传统文化“之乎者”改名为“搜乎”。爱特信第二轮融资阶段时,确定搜乎业务为未来发展重点方向。考虑到无论在世界还是中国文化中,狐狸都象征着机敏、灵活和智慧,而这些特质也符合搜索引擎服务的特点,因此,1997 年11月,将“搜乎”改为“搜狐”。

1997年的一年里,爱特信信息平台上的内容成为中国主干网CHINANET163)上信息的重要组成部分。19982月,爰特信公司成功地引进了英特尔和IDG等国际公司共220万美元,并成功地向广大中国网民推出中国人自己的搜索引擎搜狐(SOHOO),搜狐品牌正式诞生。10月,SOHOO.COM域名改为SOHU.COM,“出门靠地图,上网找搜狐”,搜狐由此打开了中国网民通往互联网世界的神奇大门。1999年,搜狐英文名称改为:SOHUhttp://www. sohu.com)。短短的半年多时间中,一跃发展成为中国访问人次最高、知名度最大的中文站点之一,爱特信公司也迅速发展成为拥有70多人的互联网公司,拥有上海、广州分公司。

时至今日,搜狐一直以满足用户互联网需求和体验为己任,成长为中国互联网的领航者。搜狐影响了中国80%的网民,成为他们的主流资讯媒体、生活、娱乐和沟通互动的平台。

1996年尼葛洛庞帝的《数字化生存》在中国岀版

《数字化生存》1996年出版之后风行中国。1995年,被称为信息技术投资和趋势分析领域教父的尼葛洛庞帝在《连线》专栏发表的18篇文章集结成书出版,这就是著名的《数字化生存》。

1996年胡泳在看到英文样书时,凭直觉,他认为这本书会成为九十年代的《第三次浪潮》。恰好在中国需要互联网启蒙的时候出现了这本书,这种历史的转折点不是轻易会有的。当时胡泳正在写作《网络为王》,但立刻决定停下自己的写作来翻译它。出版社开始要仿效台湾的译法叫它《数位革命》,胡泳坚持用《数字化生存》。就这样胡泳和范海燕合作,一人一半,在20天里完成了全书的翻译工作。这本书出版后一时洛阳纸贵。

1996年,中国的Internet就像一片沙漠,大多数人对这个没有什么概念。也不知道互联网到底是怎么一回事。中国互联网网民虽然号称有62万,但其实大多数都是计算机从业者,网络速度不仅缓慢,而且非常不稳定。《数字化生存》中文译者胡泳说,“1996年这本书所处的那个时期”,正好处在“一个从象牙塔到十字街头的关键时刻!”

《数字化生存》可以说是二十世纪信息技术及理念发展的圣经,此书的流行和传播对二十世纪信息时代的启蒙、发展产生了深远的影响。《数字化生存》对有着10多亿人口的中国来说,更是意义非凡;对大多数普通读者来说,书中展现的高科技生活图景,令人神往;对投身信息经济的弄潮儿们来说,这本书带来改变则更多。1997年,胡泳写完了那本拖延的《网络为王》,田溯宁一下买了上万本,四处分发。胡泳记得,田溯宁当时正在全国大规模建设网络基础设施,有一次他到贵州,当地官员问他来做什么,田溯宁回答:“我是来修信息高速公路的。”对方说那你去找交通厅吧,他们管修路。